If You Liked TANGLED… Try This Book!

December 30th, 2010 by

You know how sometimes you’ll be going about your regular life and you’ll suddenly remember something funny that you saw or heard earlier, and you just can’t stop yourself from laughing out loud in glee (potentially resulting in weird glances from the people around you)? Well, that’s what happens to me whenever I think of Maximus, the horse character in Disney’s recent movie, Tangled.

All I have to do is imagine Maximus’ bossy expression and endearing dog-like behavior, and I smile involuntarily. Then I start thinking about the rest of the movie — Rapunzel’s spunk, Flynn’s smirk, and the amazing musical number at the Snuggly Duckling tavern — and I instantly wish I could watch the film all over again.

But since I can’t exactly afford to see a 3D movie every day, I found the next best way to relive the experience: by reading a book that’s also based on the story of Rapunzel!

Like Tangled, Wendy Mass’ Rapunzel: The One with All the Hair is also a fresh retelling of the classic fairy tale. And amazingly, the book’s got a lot of the same elements as the movie. See for yourself:

Tangled Rapunzel: The One with All the Hair
A hero with his own story to tell
Flynn Rider Prince Benjamin
An animal sidekick for Rapunzel
Pascal (a chameleon) Sir Kitty (obviously, a kitty)
A horse with personality
Maximus (my favorite!) Snowflake
Cookware used as a weapon
Multiple frying pans Pewter bowl
Romance Duh! Like you can’t see this one coming…

So, what are you waiting for? If you’re a fan of Tangled, come on out of that tower and read Rapunzel: The One with All the Hair. You’ll find it an enjoyable (pony)tale. Get it? HA HA HA HA! I slay myself…

— Karen

Karen has grown her hair out to donate two times: the first time she cut off 10 inches, and the second time 12 inches. But she probably won’t do it again. The last time, she kept zipping her hair into her purse by accident. It hurt!

More about Karen »

4 Responses

  • Hahaha me writes:
    December 31st, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    There is another “Twice Upon a Time” by Wendy Mass about Sleeping Beauty, which is pretty good. The title has completely slipped my mind; I read it in 3rd grade. Both of the books are really funny, though. Unfortunately, I can’t quite remember if there is any of the qualities you listed in the post included in the other book…:( However, there ARE um…ogres. And mean witches/fairies. And a prince, of course.

    • Rocco writes:
      March 22nd, 2011 at 4:07 pm

      Dunno what ya taking about!Well…………………………… BYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE PPLZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D:)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

  • Rocco writes:
    March 22nd, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    BIG FAN OF TANGLED!And why did kerry cut of her own hair?If I whare her I swear i’d keep mine on well eny way i’m a boy so it wuld be hard to cut of my own hair cuz I don’t have mutch eny way cuz girls have more hair than boys well……………. BYEEEEEEEEEE PPLZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

  • love animals(Emma)《♡》 writes:
    February 25th, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    I love the movie

Leave a Reply

Comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. We will not approve comments that include personal info (such as your full name, your address, or your contact information), and we do not allow comments that are mean-spirited or insulting to others who visit Kidsmomo. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.