These Books Are a Shoe-In…

July 9th, 2010 by

It’s not unusual to see T-shirts featuring book characters, or otherwise related to books (Team Jacob vs. Team Edward, anyone?). And with the mania over Harry Potter, it’s not even uncommon to see people in kidlit costumes. But are those folks truly dressed in character, from head to toe? They may wear their greasy Snape wigs and Sorting Hats, but are their shoes really authentic?

Well, now crazy zealots — er, I mean, dedicated fans can totally look the part with book-based footwear! Remember how I said I read the websites of other adults who love children’s books? Lately, they’ve spotted a couple different kidlit-inspired shoes — methinks I smell a fashion trend! (“Smell” in the figurative sense, of course; no way I’m sniffing actual shoes.)

First up, Seuss shoes are just what the doctor ordered!

Cat in the Hat -- in Converse!

One Fish Two Fish Red Converse Blue Converse

One Fish, Two Fish, Red Converse, Blue Converse,

There are some other designs too, but these two are my favorites. Unfortunately, they mainly come in baby sizes, but some designs go all the way up to size 12 in girls/boys. Still, that’s a tight squeeze for my huge hoofers. But that’s okay, because these heavenly sneaks come in all sizes:

Adidas Wings 2.0 by Jeremy Scott

Wings 2.0 by Jeremy Scott for Adidas (and for Hermes)

Inspired by ancient mythology, perfect for fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series! Although if you’ve read the books, then you know that winged shoes aren’t everything they’re cracked up to be. But still, pretty sweet, right?

I wonder what’s coming next… I could go for a pair of Ranger’s Apprentice slippers that would be comfy and help me walk more quietly than I do now (my shoe repair guy says I’m a heavy walker). What about you? What kind of book-inspired shoes would you want?

And have any of you spotted kidlit kicks? Leave a comment and let me know!

— Karen

Forget shoes, Karen is waiting for the day she can buy an Invisibility Cloak. Unlike Harry Potter, she would not use it for good. Muhahaha!
More about Karen »

One Response

  • Hahaha me writes:
    July 10th, 2010 at 11:25 am

    I’d definitely NOT go with Cinderella’s glass shoes. Maybe I’d go with no shoes at all!

Leave a Reply

Comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. We will not approve comments that include personal info (such as your full name, your address, or your contact information), and we do not allow comments that are mean-spirited or insulting to others who visit Kidsmomo. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/39/d148835080/htdocs/kids/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/slickquiz/php/slickquiz-front.php on line 59