A Summer Grab Bag of Book Recommendations

June 29th, 2011 by

Lemonade! Popsicles! Picnics! The beach! Watermelon! Swimming! Camp! No school!

Oh, sorry, were you looking for a full sentence that actually made some sense? Too bad! It’s bright and sunny out, and we’ve got summer on the brain!

So for this special month-long theme, it’s a Summer Grab Bag of books. We’ve each selected some great reads that we’ve never mentioned before in the history of Kidsmomo. So grab some ice cream for sustenance, and then check out any of these books (in no particular order):

Karen’s Recs:

  1. The Enchanted Castle by E. Nesbit (Karen’s pick)
    I’ve read this one over and over again! Perfect for fans of The Penderwicks and Edward Eager’s books.
  2. Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery
    A lesser-known book by the author of Anne of Green Gables. As a kid, I related to Emily because she loves to write, just like me!
  3. The Naked Mole-Rat Letters by Mary Amato
    I’m pretty sure I picked up this book just because of the title. I mean, how you can resist? But there’s more to the story than just the punchline, I promise!
  4. Haroun and the Sea of Stories by Salman Rushdie
    If you like The Phantom Tollbooth, try this one out!
  5. Everyone Else’s Parents said Yes by Paula Danziger
    I love love love Paula Danziger’s hilarious books. Puns galore!
  6. The Hot and Cold Summer by Johanna Hurwitz
    A perfect pick for the season. 🙂
  7. Muggie Maggie by Beverly Cleary
    Move over, Ramona Quimby… Meet Maggie!
  8. The Silver Crown by Robert C. O’Brien
    Recently, Nancy recommended Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien. He also wrote this fantasy novel that I really enjoyed as a kid.
  9. Mandy by Julie Edwards
    If you like The Secret Garden, I highly recommend Mandy. I loved this book so much when I was growing up, it even inspired me to write a short story that was kind of similar!
  10. Atherton series by Patrick Carman
    If you’re in search of a good summer series, look no further. These books are totally awesome. Guaranteed.

Nancy’s Recs:

  1. The Magic Half by Annie Barrows (Nancy’s pick)
    Miri, a lonely middle kid between two sets of twins, finally finds her other half — who lives in the past!
  2. Sea City, Here We Come (Baby-Sitters Club Super Special #10) by Ann M. Martin
    A great summer read! All of the BSC Super Specials are fun and I, a West Coaster, especially liked #10 because it was summer on the East Coast.
  3. The Cay by Theodore Taylor
    Just because I read this for class doesn’t mean it wasn’t mesmerizing!
  4. Sweet Farts by Raymond Bean
    Keith is NOT happy with his new nickname “S.B.D.” (Silent But Deadly)… so he makes it his mission (and science project) to discover the cure for the common fart.
  5. The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks
    A classic about Omri and his friend Little Bear… who’s a plastic toy Indian that comes to life!
  6. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1) by Ally Carter
    15-year-old Cammie goes to boarding school. Boarding school for spies in training, that is.
  7. Ozma of Oz by L. Frank Baum
    Did you know that there’s more to this magical land than The Wizard of Oz? It’s up to Dorothy to save the day again!
  8. The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place Book 1: The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood
    It’s like Jane Eyre + Lemony Snicket + Mary Poppins + three wild children. Need I add more?
  9. The New Girl (Sweet Valley Twins #6) by Francine Pascal
    Find out in why newcomer Brooke Dennis is a big jerk to identical siblings Elizabeth, Jessica, and “Jennifer” Wakefield!
  10. The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary
    What happens when you give a mouse a motorcycle? He rides it, of course!

(Also, here’s a printable version of our Summer Grab Bag booklist, for you to take to the library or bookstore — or the lake house or the pool or day camp or a road trip or a plane, etc.)

If you’ve read any of these, send in your book review. Or send in a review of any books you’re reading this summer.

UPDATE 7/26/11: We revealed the answer to our Summer Grab Bag Mystery Book Theater in the “Endless Summer” Podcast, so take a listen if you want to know the answer. Or just tune in if you want to hear us revel in our own surprising amazingness. No, really.

Leave a Reply

Comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. We will not approve comments that include personal info (such as your full name, your address, or your contact information), and we do not allow comments that are mean-spirited or insulting to others who visit Kidsmomo. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.