See You at Harry’s: Book Review

November 5th, 2013 by

see-you-at-harrysOkay, I’m not going to beat around the bush here: This book is sad. You should know that up front. I’m just looking out for you, my friends.

But even though it’s sad, See You at Harry’s by Jo Knowles is still full of humor and sweetness and hope. And it’s definitely still worth a read if you can deal with a sad book.

Part of the reason is because it’s fascinating to get the inside scoop on a restaurant family. (Fern, the protagonist, has to deal with the trials and tribulations of her parents running an ice cream shop and diner — including being forced to appear in commercials and fighting to keep her face off the official van.)

Beyond that, though, you also grow to know and love the family in the book. You feel for older brother Holden as he explores his identity, and you’re totally invested when tragedy strikes and everyone struggles to pick up the pieces.

I don’t want to say too much and spoil the book for those of you who haven’t read it, so I’ll stop here. Except to say that I’d recommend this book for fans of Umbrella Summer and Because of Mr. Terupt.

Have you read See You at Harry’s? Leave a comment or send in your own review! Or tell me your favorite ice cream flavor — or invent a new flavor you’d like to try!

— Karen

Karen loves ice cream so much, it’s hard to pick a favorite flavor. She prefers anything with toffee, peanut butter, salty caramel, and pretzel or potato chip pieces. Put it all together, and you have her dream flavor of Super Crunchy Snacky PB & Caramel (invented just now!)

More about Karen »

Leave a Reply

Comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. We will not approve comments that include personal info (such as your full name, your address, or your contact information), and we do not allow comments that are mean-spirited or insulting to others who visit Kidsmomo. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.