No More Dead Dogs: Book Review

February 26th, 2014 by

no-more-dead-dogsDon’t worry — No More Dead Dogs by Gordon Korman is not really about deceased canines. It’s actually about a guy named Wallace who just can’t stand to read another book for school that’s about dead dogs. (Think: Old Yeller, Where the Red Fern Grows…)

Not surprisingly, Wallace and his English teacher don’t see eye to eye on this issue. So Wallace ends up in detention — which just happens to require sitting in on rehearsals for the school play, based on a book about a dead dog!

Wallace is not into it — at first. But as he gets more involved, he also gets more and more irritating to drama club star Rachel. Half the chapters are from her point of view, and it’s fun and funny to see how her take on the situation differs from Wallace’s.

I recommend this book for fans of Andrew Clements’ books, Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen, and Romeo and Juliet Together (And Alive!) at Last by Avi.

If you’ve already read this book or if you’ve ever felt similarly to Wallace about your required reading, leave a comment with your thoughts!

— Karen

Karen had to read Where the Red Fern Grows twice when she was in middle school. She bawled like a baby both times.

More about Karen »

3 Responses

  • Nancy writes:
    March 16th, 2015 at 8:53 am

    I would hate to read a book about a dead dog. I don’t like when old yeller dies in the book. Well I have not read where the red fern grows.

  • kiddiemomo writes:
    March 16th, 2015 at 6:24 pm

    Sounder was so sad…

  • becca writes:
    October 11th, 2016 at 11:05 am

    good book

Leave a Reply

Comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. We will not approve comments that include personal info (such as your full name, your address, or your contact information), and we do not allow comments that are mean-spirited or insulting to others who visit Kidsmomo. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.