Last in a Long Line of Rebels: Book Review

July 26th, 2016 by

last-in-a-long-line-of-rebelsLongtime Kidsmomo readers may have noticed a few patterns in the type of books I just love love love. There are obviously exceptions (for example my all-time fave series about a certain Boy Who Lived). But in general, it’s a safe bet I’ll grab a book out of your hands if it falls into one of these categories:

  • Books about food
  • Stories about kids training at a specialty school, especially as related to espionage or cooking/baking
  • Books set in small towns full of eccentric characters
  • Light-hearted mysteries, puzzle competitions, or capers where there’s no serious threat of bodily harm

Last in a Long Line of Rebels by Lisa Lewis Tyre falls into those last two categories:

Lou lives in a small town in the South, where all the colorful characters are always in each other’s business. My favorite!

Also, Lou has a mystery on her hands: When she learns that her family will have to sell their home, she is determined to find a treasure that was supposedly stolen and hidden on their land by one of her ancestors. But it seems like someone else in town may be after it too! Lou and her friends are in a race against their competitor and against the clock as they frantically try to piece together the history of Lou’s family to figure out where the treasure might be stashed.

So you can see why I enjoyed this book so much! Kooky characters in a small town? Check. Mystery with a lot at stake and yet not a lot of danger? Check and check.

Another great thing about this book is that it tackles not just the history of slavery in the South, but also the issue of present-day racism. So even though the overall tone of the book is not too serious, there are definitely some important questions that Lou struggles with as she tries to understand how her ancestors could support slavery in the past and how her neighbors can be prejudiced today.

I recommend this book for fans of Three Times Lucky, Book Scavenger, Absolutely Truly, and Moon Over Manifest.

If you’ve read Last in a Long Line of Rebels already, leave a comment with your thoughts. Or tell everyone what kind of books you just can’t resist.

— Karen

Karen forgot to mention she is also drawn to stories that take place over the summer — which includes Last in a Long Line of Rebels!

More about Karen »

Leave a Reply

Comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. We will not approve comments that include personal info (such as your full name, your address, or your contact information), and we do not allow comments that are mean-spirited or insulting to others who visit Kidsmomo. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.