Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere: Book Review

May 8th, 2017 by

You learn a lot about the main character, Olga, just by looking at the cover of Elise Gravel’s new book, Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere:

 

  • She’s grumpy
  • She likes animals
  • This book includes science — weird science
  • Some humans annoy her (keep in mind Olga is human too)

If just one portion of this book cover entices you, then you should definitely read Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere!

The book is half-illustrations, half-text, and all-fun! Olga, is a sarcastic, witty, science-loving girl who aspires to be a zoologist — a scientist who studies animals. Fortuitously, Olga discovers a funky potato-shaped pink creature (seen on the cover of the book), which she names “Meh” after the sound it makes all the time. Meh is smelly, furry, has a skinny tail and spindly feet, farts and burps a lot, and is about the size of a small pig.

Olga carefully catalogs her scientific observations on Meh and when she realizes she can’t match Meh to any existing species in any book, she names it olgamus ridiculus. With the help of the local librarian, new friends, and other quirky characters in her town, Olga is on a mission to study Meh. She even learns a thing or two from “the Lalas,” two girls her age who love make-up, boys, and just don’t seem “get” her.

But where does Meh come from? What does it eat? Can Olga take care of it properly? Read the book to find out!

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere is perfect for fans of Captain Underpants, Dear Dumb Diary, or Wimpy Kid. It’s a very quick read, and the drawings and observations in the book will probably make you laugh out loud. I loved how Olga truly loves all animals, no matter how large, small, or creepy crawly:

This book is brand-new on shelves, but I’m excited to see what other nerdy adventures are in store for Olga in the future! Will she find other animals, and what will happen to Meh? I hope we find out in the rest of the series!

— Nancy

Nancy does not like slugs, but she does not mind drawings of slugs. Most of the time.

Meet Nancy »

Leave a Reply

Comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. We will not approve comments that include personal info (such as your full name, your address, or your contact information), and we do not allow comments that are mean-spirited or insulting to others who visit Kidsmomo. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/39/d148835080/htdocs/kids/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/slickquiz/php/slickquiz-front.php on line 59