These Books Are a Shoe-In…

July 9th, 2010 by

It’s not unusual to see T-shirts featuring book characters, or otherwise related to books (Team Jacob vs. Team Edward, anyone?). And with the mania over Harry Potter, it’s not even uncommon to see people in kidlit costumes. But are those folks truly dressed in character, from head to toe? They may wear their greasy Snape wigs and Sorting Hats, but are their shoes really authentic?

Well, now crazy zealots — er, I mean, dedicated fans can totally look the part with book-based footwear! Remember how I said I read the websites of other adults who love children’s books? Lately, they’ve spotted a couple different kidlit-inspired shoes — methinks I smell a fashion trend! (“Smell” in the figurative sense, of course; no way I’m sniffing actual shoes.)

First up, Seuss shoes are just what the doctor ordered!

Cat in the Hat -- in Converse!

One Fish Two Fish Red Converse Blue Converse

One Fish, Two Fish, Red Converse, Blue Converse,

There are some other designs too, but these two are my favorites. Unfortunately, they mainly come in baby sizes, but some designs go all the way up to size 12 in girls/boys. Still, that’s a tight squeeze for my huge hoofers. But that’s okay, because these heavenly sneaks come in all sizes:

Adidas Wings 2.0 by Jeremy Scott

Wings 2.0 by Jeremy Scott for Adidas (and for Hermes)

Inspired by ancient mythology, perfect for fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series! Although if you’ve read the books, then you know that winged shoes aren’t everything they’re cracked up to be. But still, pretty sweet, right?

I wonder what’s coming next… I could go for a pair of Ranger’s Apprentice slippers that would be comfy and help me walk more quietly than I do now (my shoe repair guy says I’m a heavy walker). What about you? What kind of book-inspired shoes would you want?

And have any of you spotted kidlit kicks? Leave a comment and let me know!

— Karen

Forget shoes, Karen is waiting for the day she can buy an Invisibility Cloak. Unlike Harry Potter, she would not use it for good. Muhahaha!
More about Karen »

Mike Myers Reminds Me That I Fear Robots

August 13th, 2009 by

Shrek by William Steig

Shrek by William Steig

I was heading over to Pinkberry for dinner* a few days ago and Mike Myers was there too. Depending on how old you are, you’ll either know him from movies such as Wayne’s World (as Wayne), Austin Powers (as Austin Powers), Shrek (as Shrek), and The Cat in the Hat (as, you guessed it, The Cat). Whoa, he plays the main character in a lot of movies.

Well, Shrek! and The Cat in the Hat are classic picture books, but I was also really excited about this celebrity sighting because Mike Myers is going to be in an adaptation of How to Survive a Robot Uprising: Tips on Defending Yourself Against the Coming Rebellion by Daniel H. Wilson, a hilarious book about — well, the title speaks for itself.

How to Survive a Robot Uprising

How to Survive a Robot Uprising

Now, HTSARUTODYATCR just so happens to be one of my favorite books! (Unlike Karen, I do sometimes take a break from children’s stuff to read books for adults.) Normally, I keep HTSARUTODYATCR on hand to skim whenever a new cyborg is featured in the news. But thanks to my brush with Mike Myers, I’ve decided to carefully re-read the whole thing. Seriously, we have to be prepared.

So, how about you guys? Any upcoming book-to-film adaptations that you’re looking forward to? Or any books you decided to read after you saw the movie version first? Leave a comment and let me know!

— Nancy

* A bad habit that I picked up from Karen. It’s just not healthy. Please remember: Karen and I are kind of terrible at being “grown up” — like, we eat Pinkberry yogurt for dinner. But on the bright side… we eat Pinkberry yogurt for dinner! YAY!


Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/39/d148835080/htdocs/kids/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/slickquiz/php/slickquiz-front.php on line 59