Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library

May 15th, 2017 by

Submitted by Andrew, Age 10 from Connecticut

Rating: ★★★★★

This book shows a amazing work of cooperation. The title actually explains the book. Yeah. Escaping a library. To conclude it’s a good book.

Treasure Hunters by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein

October 26th, 2015 by

treasure-huntersSubmitted by Logan, Age 11 from New York

Rating: ★★★★★

This book is about four kids and there parents are gone and there being chased by pirate surfers. i liked it because its always suspenseful. I recommend it to all 4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11 and 12

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library: Book Review

May 25th, 2015 by

I love this book! Or should I say…

rebus-eye-love-book

Rebuses like this one play a key role in the book, along with all kinds of other fun puzzles. And it’s up to the kids in the story to piece together all the clues and find the ultimate solution — in order to win the ultimate prize!

In Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein, a bunch of middle schoolers are selected to spend the night at their new town library, which has been designed by the world’s most famous game creator. At first, it just seems like an awesome sleep-over, with snacks and games. But then the real purpose of the party is revealed: The kids are invited to compete against each other in a battle of wits. They’ll be locked in the library for another day and night, and they’ll need to solve a series of riddles and puzzles in order to get out. First one to escape wins major fame!

I enjoyed every moment of this book. I’d highly recommend it for fans of The Puzzling World of Winston Breen and Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life. Like those books, this is a caper where the reader can collect clues and make his/her own guesses along the way. You’ll also like this book if you enjoyed The Candymakers or Floors, which are also about kids exploring fantastical, wacky buildings.

And even though the characters aren’t in danger here, there’s enough suspense and double-crossing to keep you turning the pages as fast as you possibly can. (The day I started this book, I had to ride the subway for two hours, and the trip flew by because I was so absorbed in this book!)

If you’ve read this book, leave me a comment and let me know. Or just tell me YOUR answer to this question (if you can figure out what the question is!):

rebus-wood-ewe-join-the-race-in-book

 

— Karen

(Hint: What follows is Karen’s answer to her question.) Yes, Karen would!

More about Karen »