Odessa Again: Book Review

March 6th, 2016 by

odessa-againWhat would you change if you could travel back in time? But wait! Before you start envisioning big changes like preventing wars or thwarting the rise of Hitler, just know that you can only travel back 24 hours. And then the next time you do it, you can only travel back 23 hours — and then 22, and then 21, and so on… That’s what happens in Odessa Again by Dana Reinhardt.

When Odessa discovers the magical power of her new bedroom after moving houses, she first focuses on fixing her personal life — like opting out of a bold new haircut after she tries it the first time and realizes it looks terrible, and avoiding an embarrassing moment with her crush.

But after a while, Odessa starts to feel like maybe she’s been given a gift that she’s been wasting. As the hours tick down, she begins to be more choosy about when to use up time travel. And what if she’s been given this opportunity for a reason — a very specific reason: to save her family?

I won’t go into more detail about what’s at stake for Odessa and her family because I think you’ll enjoy Odessa’s process of exploration and discovery — after all, Odessa doesn’t start out knowing what she’ll eventually focus on! But if you do want more info before you start reading, just check out the synopsis on the book cover; it definitely reveals more about what Odessa wants to change by the end of the story.

I recommend this book for fans of Wendy Mass’ Willow Falls books, All the Answers by Kate Messner, and The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm. In other words, if you like books about family and friendship — with just a touch of magic — then Odessa Again will be a great pick for you!

For those of you who haven’t read the book yet, do you have any guesses about the big family issue Odessa wants to solve? Leave a comment with your guess!

— Karen

Karen would definitely be tempted to use some of her time travel opportunities to go back and change poor food decisions. Ordered the wrong thing for lunch? Went to a bad restaurant for dinner? Fixed through magic!

More about Karen »


Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/39/d148835080/htdocs/kids/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/slickquiz/php/slickquiz-front.php on line 59