2020 Newbery Award Winners

February 3rd, 2020 by

The Super Bowl was last night, and apparently that’s exciting for some people… Not us! The only recent competition that we care about actually happened last week: the Newbery Awards!

Last Monday, the American Library Association announced the 2020 Newbery Medal Winner and 2020 Newbery Honor Books. Every year, the Newbery is given to “the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.” So if you’re not familiar with these awards, just think of them as the Super Bowl — plus children’s books, minus the nachos. We know, we know — nachos are delicious. But even without the cheesy chips and guacamole, the Newbery Awards are still really exciting.

And this year’s announcement was particularly exciting because a graphic novel won the Newbery Medal for the very first time: New Kid by Jerry Craft. Here’s what Karen had to say about it in her review: “I’d recommend this book to literally everyone. Okay, maybe not to little kids who can’t read yet. But everyone else should check out New Kid. Students, adults, everyone.”

So if you were wondering what to read next, check out New Kid or any of the Newbery Honor recipients (official descriptions from the publishers):

2020 Newbery Medal Winner:

New Kid by Jerry Craft
new-kid-jerry-craft

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds — and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

2020 Newbery Honor Books:

undefeatedThe Undefeated, written by Kwame Alexander and illustrated by Kadir Nelson

Originally performed for ESPN’s The Undefeated, this poem is a love letter to black life in the United States. It highlights the unspeakable trauma of slavery, the faith and fire of the civil rights movement, and the grit, passion, and perseverance of some of the world’s greatest heroes. The text is also peppered with references to the words of Martin Luther King, Jr., Langston Hughes, Gwendolyn Brooks, and others, offering deeper insights into the accomplishments of the past, while bringing stark attention to the endurance and spirit of those surviving and thriving in the present. Robust back matter at the end provides valuable historical context and additional detail for those wishing to learn more.

scary-stories-for-young-foxesScary Stories for Young Foxes by Christian McKay Heidicker

The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood.

No fox kit is safe. When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow… and other things too scary to mention.

Featuring eight interconnected stories and 16 hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R.L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

other-words-for-homeOther Words for Home by Jasmine Warga

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US — and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises — there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

genesis-begins-againGenesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams

There are 96 things Genesis hates about herself. She knows the exact number because she keeps a list. Like #95: Because her skin is so dark, people call her charcoal and eggplant — even her own family. And #61: Because her family is always being put out of their house, belongings laid out on the sidewalk for the world to see. When your dad is a gambling addict and loses the rent money every month, eviction is a regular occurrence.

What’s not so regular is that this time they all don’t have a place to crash, so Genesis and her mom have to stay with her grandma. It’s not that Genesis doesn’t like her grandma, but she and Mom always fight — Grandma haranguing Mom to leave Dad, that she should have gone back to school, that if she’d married a lighter skinned man none of this would be happening, and on and on and on. But things aren’t all bad. Genesis actually likes her new school; she’s made a couple friends, her choir teacher says she has real talent, and she even encourages Genesis to join the talent show.

But how can Genesis believe anything her teacher says when her dad tells her the exact opposite? How can she stand up in front of all those people with her dark, dark skin knowing even her own family thinks lesser of her because of it? Why, why, why won’t the lemon or yogurt or fancy creams lighten her skin like they’re supposed to? And when Genesis reaches #100 on the list of things she hates about herself, will she continue on, or can she find the strength to begin again?

Are you adding any of these books to your to-read list? Or have you already read them? Leave a comment and let us know!

Rebound by Kwame Alexander: Book Review

November 24th, 2019 by

rebound-kwame-alexanderI am decidedly not a sports fan. The only sport I really like watching is Quidditch. But that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy a good sports book — especially one that’s as much about the characters and their lives as about their athletics on the court. Rebound by Kwame Alexander falls into that group.

If you’ve read Kwame Alexander’s other books The Crossover or Booked, then you kind of know what to expect: The story is told in verse, from the perspective of the main character. And like those other books, Rebound goes back and forth between play-by-play sports sequences and moving family moments.

Rebound tells the story of Charlie, who is sent off to live with his grandparents the summer after his father dies. At first, Charlie would rather stay in his room reading comics. But before long, he’s forced to spend his days at the local Boys and Girls Club with his cousin, Roxie, working on his basketball skills.

Over the course of the summer, it’s not just Charlie’s game that improves — he finds himself learning a lot from his grandfather and maybe just maybe finally starting to deal with his heartbreak over losing his dad. But can he go the whole summer without getting into trouble? Let’s just say that despite his best intentions, Charlie finds it hard to stay out of hot water…

Unlike Kwame Alexander’s other books, Rebound also incorporates something new: comic panels that show some of Charlie’s fantasies of basketball glory. Pretty fitting for a character who loves comic books. I only wish there were even more comic parts to the book!

I’d recommend this book first and foremost to fans of The Crossover — not just because of the similar feel, but also because Charlie is actually the father of the main characters from The Crossover. So in a way, this is kind of a prequel to their story — or in comic book terms, it’s an origin story for Charlie Bell.

I’d also suggest this book if you’re a fan of other stories that tie together personal challenges and sports, like the Track series by Jason Reynolds or Heat by Mike Lupica.

What’s YOUR favorite sport? Leave a comment below! And if you’re like me and a Quidditch fan, you can also tell me your favorite magical team! (Mine’s the Holyhead Harpies, the only all-witch team in Britain!)

— Karen

Even though Karen doesn’t watch a lot of sports, she obviously still enjoys books involving sports. But she’d love to see a book that intersperses Quidditch matches and personal stories. Or wait, is that just Harry Potter?

More about Karen »

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

December 27th, 2017 by

The Crossover_Kwame AlexanderSubmitted by Kasey, Age 12 from New York

Rating: ★★★★★

I think the book was ok at fist and at the end then it was so good.The special part is that it is like a poem and it tied me in.It about basketball.

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

December 26th, 2017 by

The Crossover_Kwame AlexanderSubmitted by Mallory, Age 12 from New York

Rating: ★★★★★

I think that Croossover is a very good book. Because i like basketball. And it has same words that the Dad says is funny.

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

November 20th, 2017 by

The Crossover_Kwame AlexanderSubmitted by Wyatt, Age 11 from New York

Rating: ★★★★★

This book is amazing. It’s written in stanzas just to let you know. It’s about a kid who craves basketball and is going through a really hard time. Read to find out

Booked by Kwame Alexander

October 16th, 2017 by

Booked_Kwame-AlexanderSubmitted by Wyatt, Age 11 from New York

Rating: ★★★★★

This book is about a kid who loves soccer. And he has a crush on a girl named April

Booked by Kwame Alexander

October 14th, 2017 by

Booked_Kwame-AlexanderSubmitted by Wyatt, Age 11 from New York

Rating: ★★★★★

This book is amazing it’s about a kid who loves soccer and his mom and dad get divorced you should definitely read it.

Booked by Kwame Alexander

March 31st, 2017 by

Booked_Kwame-AlexanderSubmitted by Pat, Age 11 from New York

Rating: ★★★★★

This is about a boy named Nick. Nick loves soccer,he also loves this girl named April Farrow.when he played soccer he sprained his ankle and had to go to the hospital.👏👏👏👏👏👏👏One of the best books I have read

Booked by Kwame Alexander

March 7th, 2017 by

Booked_Kwame-AlexanderSubmitted by Ava, Age 11 from New York

Rating: ★★★½☆

It’s a easy book to read and it’s good but there was something about it that I didn’t like. It was no where near as good as The Crossover.

Booked by Kwame Alexander

January 12th, 2017 by

Booked_Kwame-AlexanderSubmitted by Hunter, Age 11 from New York

Rating: ★★★★★

Booked is a great book the main character is Nick, Nick has a good life in till his mom is leaving to work somewhere else without him then he starts falling asleep in class. He plays soccer and he is very good and his friend but there on different teams Nike sprained his ankle. So there is some good information about the book I suggest kids to read this book if you haven’t. And I loved it.

« Older Entries