The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

November 30th, 2013 by


[Note from Kidsmomo: This book is recommended for ages 12 and up. If you want to give your parents more info on this book, send them here.]

Submitted by Devon, Age 9 from New York

Rating: ★★★★★

In the book The Hunger Games in the country of Panem there are 12 districts. There used to be 13, but district 13 got destroyed in the “dark days”. The dark days were a time when district 13 decided to start a war with the capital (a very bad group of people who run Panem). As you can guess, the capital won. To remind the districts of the dark days the capital holds something called the Hunger Games. The Hunger Games is when the capital throws 2 kids ages 12-18 into an arena and they fight until death and 1 person is crowned victor. Katniss Everdeen lives in district 12 with her mom and sister Prim. Her father died in a manning accident when she was little. Prim, Katniss’s sister gets called to go into the hunger games but Katniss can’t let that happen. Find out what happens next in this great book.

2 Responses

  • chris writes:
    January 9th, 2014 at 9:44 am

    good book reveiw i really like it

  • Ryan writes:
    March 18th, 2014 at 10:23 am

    good review I like how you described about district 13 and the war

Leave a Reply

Comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. We will not approve comments that include personal info (such as your full name, your address, or your contact information), and we do not allow comments that are mean-spirited or insulting to others who visit Kidsmomo. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.